Beauty · Make up · Skincare

Benefit Cosmetics are very sneaky ..

Since choosing to buy cruelty free make up I am guttered to find that benefit aren’t cruelty free. I’ve seen it on loads of websites and on PETA that the company does test of animals. Yet these are extracts from their website..

Does Benefit Cosmetics test on animals?

 Benefit does not test our products on animals.

Since 1989, the Perfumes & Cosmetics companies of LVMH group (including Benefit Cosmetics) have not performed any tests on animals for our products – this was implemented long before the 2013 official ban set by the European Union.

We are deeply committed to the elimination of animal testing. We’re playing a leading role in developing alternative methods through our support of the “Fund for Alternatives to Animal Testing” in the United States. We also actively participate in validation studies of new alternative tests in the framework of the European cosmetics association, Cosmetics Europe. We are one of only a few companies to have invested in creating our own internal department to test raw materials and ingredients to further ensure the quality of our products and the satisfaction of our customers, which is our top priority.

We are hopeful that alternative testing methods will be adopted worldwide and we will see an end to animal testing.”

 

I thought hurray! Great! I can use their products. BUT I know that the company sell products in China. In China it is law that all cosmetics MUST be tested on animals to be sold there. I emailed the customer services to ask them to confirm they do not test on animals and if so, how can they sell in China. I got a generic ‘we dont test on animals, blah blah blah..’ email back and my comment about selling in China was ignored. I persisted and asked again about selling in China. Two/three months later I got my reply ..

“Dear Helen,

To help clarify our position on animal testing, Benefit cosmetics does not test our products on animals. We export our products worldwide, including China and unfortunately to date, there is no harmonization in the risk assessment methods globally. In China, the authorities require companies to make their products available to be tested in state-certified laboratories for registration purposes. The Chinese authorities conduct tests on animals on certain imported cosmetics as they consider that this is the best way to ensure the consumers’ safety. We want to stress that these tests are not performed by us.

Love & Lipstick,

Vanessa
Benefit Cosmetics Customer Care”

 

So yes ‘technically’ Benefit do not test their products on animals but they are still willingly handing their products over to China to be tested on animals.

Am I over thinking this? It just seems very sneaky that’s all …

Let me know what you think 🙂

Helen x

 

8 thoughts on “Benefit Cosmetics are very sneaky ..

  1. Hey! Great post! I have recently made the decision to go cruelty free and it is hard to find the truth about certain brands’ testing stance. Benefit being a case on point. I generally go by PETA and if they don’t say anything about the brand I try to give the brand’s website the benefit of the doubt. But I totally understand your frustration!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, thank you :). I completely agree! I like to look on PETA but understand that they can’t keep up with everything. I feel more confident with messaging companies now to ask about their policys. The biggest tell would be if they sell in China. Well done for going cruelty free 🙂 it’s a bit difficult but worth it

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 I will check it out. Yes I have read this on quite a few websites now. I did read a new article to say that the law in China might be changing though, so fingers crossed!

      Like

  2. I really hate companies who try to say that they’re doing what they can to end animal testing, but yet they’re still willing to make a profit by handing over their products for someone else to test on animals.

    I wouldn’t support a company like that. Once I find out that a certain company sells in China, that’s when I know that they won’t be getting any of my money! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel the same way. It annoyed me so much how companies like Benefit word things! It doesn’t make it easy to find out if they really do test on animals.
      Couldn’t agree more! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

