Make up

Review: 3 Cruelty Free Mascaras

_DSC0035

Hi guys,

So as I said earlier this week here is my review of 3 cruelty free mascaras. They are; Urban Decay Perversion Macara, Soap & Glory Thick & Fast Flash-Extensions Effect Mascara and Oraganic Glam Mascara (Oraganic Pharmacy).

WARNING: this is a big post! But it hopefully should be worth it 🙂

I’ll start with the UD Perversion Mascara. I got this mascara in the Naked on Run set so I wasn’t expecting great things from it as it was part of a set. Usually, the price is £17.50 – which I think is okayish.

On first impressions I didn’t really like this mascara, I just thought it did nothing to my lashes apart from clump them together. But I was determined to give it a good go so I kept using it. I still think it that the mascara doesn’t give much seperation to the lashes but it doesn’t make it look like you have like 5 eyelashes either.

_DSC0045

As the shape of the wand would suggest it does give your lashes a sort of messy look. My lashes are long and not particularly straight but not curly either. At the minute I’m not using an eyelash curler because I’ve lost mine and I’m on the hunt for a new one (I’m thinking a shu umera one?).

I do think that this is a good mascara for the price (£17.50). It does give my eyelashes volume and it holds it all day. I would like to try it also with an eyelash curler because I think it would look fantastic and make your lashes look like falsh lashes. If I’m going somewhere on a night and want more of a dramatic look I know that this won’t let me down. I do prefer to wear this on a night because it sometimes can smudge during the day (just a little bit though). When I take my make up off on a night I do find that I can sometimes wake up with some smudged macara under my eyes too.

Overall I would give it a 8 out of 10 because the tube itself is very small compared to most mascaras and it is a little pricey so it just feels like you’re getting less product for the money. 

Next is the Soap & Glory Thick & Fast Mascara. This is part of the S&G collection and there are two others that I would like to try as well. I picked this one up rather than the other two because I wanted intense lashes and a falsh lash effect.
This mascara claims to give intense length, definition and volume. I’m not sure I agree with the intense part of that sentence but I do think it gives good definition and volume. My lashes are pretty long anyway so I can’t really comment on the length part of it. This is the cheapest of the 3 mascaras at £10.50 I’m reviewing and it’s quite widely available in most Boots stores.

_DSC0047

The wand is quite thick I feel like I can’t really get every lash especially the little ones near my inner corner. However the formula is fantastic – it doesn’t feel heavy at all and it is so easy to remove. Because of this I can put a fair few coats on and it does look overdone. It gives my lashes volume and some definition but I do have to really try to get every lash with this one. The mascara lasts all day and doesn’t smudge underneath my eye.

I would give this mascara a 9 out of 10. I took one point off because of the thick wand but I think for the price (£10.50) this mascara is amazing. Oh, and I forgot to mention that the packaging is gorgeous and feels much more expensive than what it is! To be fair this is my favourite mascara out of the three I’m talking about!

Lastly the Oraganic Glam Mascara. I got this free with a magazine (can’t remember the name) that cost me £4.10 but usually the price is £21.95. For me this is a bit on the pricey side so I jumped at the chance to get the magazine to try it.

Honestly, so far I really dislike this mascara. I just feel like it does nothing for my eyelashes. I thought that the shape of wand would mean that it really would get into my lashes and give good seperation but sadly no. It claims to curl, lengthen and condition but I only agree that my lashes do feel conditioned. The formula is very light (is that the right word?!) so it’s easy to remove and doesn’t feel heavy at all. But I just feel like it only makes my lashes darker and provides a tiny bit of curl.

_DSC0039

I would give this a 2/3 of out 10 because it does do something but for the price it’s just not enough. I appreciate that it has loads of vitamins and stuff in it but it just doesn’t look like it’s doing much at all.

Congratulations for reaching the end! I really hope this was helpful and I didn’t ramble on too much. Let me know what you think if you have any of these mascaras or ones you think I might like.

I hope you’ve had a good week and let’s pray that monday is going to be a good one!

Helen x

Leave a Reply

