Skincare

Review: LUSH Helping Hands Hand Cream

Happy Wednesday you lovely people! I hope your week so far is going okay 🙂

So this is my first proper review – eek! No pressure then.. Here we go..

Firstly, I have pretty dry hands. Not to the point where they crack but they look like they belong to someone alot older than me.

For years I’ve been looking for a good hand cream that won’t leave my hands feel greasy but will last through washes. I’ve tried a fair few (aveeno, e45, the cocoa butter one, s&g hand food, etc) and I just can’t find one I like. I work in a hospital so I wash my hands a fair bit but even before that I have always had dry hands.

I’m moving over to becoming cruelty free and I had never bought anything from LUSH before so I was walking past a LUSH in the Metro Centre and I thought .. what the hell!

I talked to a lovely girl who worked there and she recommended a hand cream called Helping Hands. It’s aimed at hospital workers that wash their hands a lot.

wpid-dsc_0358.jpg

wpid-dsc_0359.jpg

First impressions, I wasn’t completely sold on the smell. It’s a really difficult smell to describe – it does smell fresh and homemade and kind of like butter. It’s a very like LUSH smell – being new to this shop I think I will get use to it. I’m not sure I like how it’s in a pot – meaning I’ll have to stick my fingers in carefully so I won’t get the cream under my nails. However it does mean that I can use up all the product unlike tubes of cream so that’s a plus.

I’ve been using it for a few weeks now and I do like it… but it doesn’t last through washes really. I have noticed an improvement in my hands – only slight though. If I use even a little bit too much of the product it does get greasy which isn’t ideal for me at work. It is £7.75 which I think is okay as it does make a difference but I’m quite stingey so for me, it doesn’t make enough of an improvement for the price. I’ve bought cheaper hand creams and seen more of a difference. In saying this, it’s reasonable for the sheer fact that it’s fairtrade, etc

Overall, I don’t think this product is for me. I do find it too greasy and like I said, it doesn’t really last through washes. I will continue to use it until the pop runs out to give it a fair go – if I change my mind I will post an updated review. However I think I will be heading back to LUSH to give another hand cream a go or possibly looking elsewear for a CF hand cream. I do think that it would be good for dry and cracked hands – so perhaps a bit worse than mine?

What do you guys think of Helping Hands? Or do you have a CF hand cream that you recommend?

Helen x

Leave a Reply

